Shop Small 2013

A 365 day challenge

Day 26: Not healthy, but oh so yummy!

9 times out of 10 we eat really healthy. My kids are good about vegetables, sushi, and will pretty much eat anything I make.

But, every so often I really want something messy, super-cheesy, and just plain unhealthy. And not pizza.

This kind of craving seemed like the perfect excuse to try Fat Ricky’s. They do have a couple other locations, but recently opened one down the street from my house.

Believe me, even though we’re a pretty healthy & organic home, and I occasionally enjoy an unhealthy meal, I still don’t want chemical-laden, fake garbage ingredients. Let’s be clear- you aren’t going to a place called Fat Ricky’s for salmon & rice or low-cal dinner. But, if you want a killer chicken parm sandwich oozing with cheese & sauce running down your hands, this is the place.

They’ve been using their family recipes since 1963; apparently they’re known for their pizza and steak sandwiches.

And, though most people dining in (and picking up orders) had pizza, we opted to try two sandwiches: meatball sub and the chicken parm.
image
Splitting the two was easily enough for the 4 of us, they’re big and filling. While I wasn’t a fan of the meatball sub, the chicken parm was great. Lightly breaded, tons of cheese, and plenty of sauce.

The young girl working the counter was very nice & I have to give her the credit for suggesting her favorite sandwich- the chicken parmesan.

I obviously don’t recommend Fat Ricky’s for every day, but when you’re in the mood for “good, unhealthy” food with great ingredients- Fat Ricky’s is it!

Any other favorites for a “junk food” fix?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment