Shop Small 2013

A 365 day challenge

Day 19: A new spot for dinner…

Aside from our sushi lunch, last night was the first dinner out this year!

A New Mexican restaurant opened down the street a few months ago (this actually their second location) & I had yet to try it.

I have mixed thoughts about Burrito Parrilla Mexicana.

It’s nice to have another independent restaurant, and this one is counter service: order at the counter and they bring you your food.

Although everything was very fresh and very good, I wasn’t expecting to pay $47 for dinner at a counter. My fajitas contained a full breast of grilled chicken and homemade tortillas, so I didn’t think $10 was a bad deal, but dinner for four still seemed like a lot…for counter service.

Like many others there, I was taking my order to go. Although I didn’t sit in a booth to wait, those who did were served chips and two kinds of fresh salsa. I was curious about the size of $7.99 guacamole, saw it served, believe me it could serve 4 people. Although all of our entrees came with guac so I’m glad I didn’t order an extra side.

Eating in? Food is served on nice dishes- I’d actually love a set of the long plates they have!
image
Their horchata is delicious, and Mexican coke (real sugar, no high fructose corn syrup) in bottles is another option. No cerveza though.

All in all, food was good, and service was good, and it’s close to home. I’m just a little caught up on $47 for counter service.

Side note: there is way too much cheese for this to be truly authentic Mexican food, but their horchata is definitely some of the best I’ve had.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 19: A new spot for dinner…

  1. That meal looks nice wish they had these type of spots where I live

Leave a Reply

