Shop Small 2013

A 365 day challenge

Day 14: Concrete Jungle Where Dreams are Made From: Chelsea Market

Ok, I’m not really in New York, though I so wish I were.

My step-father is there right now, so I guess I have to live vicariously through him.

Although my day was bursting with excitement, I figured you’d rather hear about two of my favorite NYC spots than about cleaning the house and taking my daughter to swimming. Jealous, right?

One of my favorite things about Manhattan is the abundance of small businesses, chains are actually the rarity. Although when I was there in November, I was a little surprised by the number of Dunkin’ Donuts.

Back to New York. Anytime someone from my family heads to NYC, the same question is asked, are you going to Chelsea Market or Fishs Eddy? Yes? Here’s my list!

Chelsea Market is its own enclosed oasis. There is truly something for everyone here, and the Food Network actually films upstairs. (I’ve never run into any “celebs” while shopping at the mini-grocery) Fine by me, more lobster bisque from The Lobster Place for me! Need a sweet treat? The packaging for Fat Witch bakery brownies are adorable, but they’re aren’t my favorite. L’arte del Gelato, on the other hand, has incredible fresh gelato. Inspired to cook & bake at home? Bowery Kitchen Supply has everything you could possibly need.

image

Now that you’re cooking- get thee to Fishes Eddy!

It is a plethora of fun mugs, plates, serving pieces, and linen. Kitchy, vintage, even a gift registry. I have to admit, I had serious juice glass envy with the set my sister gave my 92-year-old grandma! They do deliver, but you definitely want to spend some time in the store if you’re in the area. What’s on my wishlist today? The Spiral Floral Italian Wine (or juice) glass- $6.00.

imageWarren are you reading this?!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 14: Concrete Jungle Where Dreams are Made From: Chelsea Market

  1. Lori DiGiovanni on said:

    Love these glasses! I think Warren should bring us some back!! Yes I said US. 🙂 can’t wait for a NYC trip. We will have to visit these gems.

Leave a Reply

