Shop Small 2013

A 365 day challenge

Day 8

It arrived!!

I mentioned yesterday that I was waiting for something cool…it’s here!

image

What is it you ask?

Well, a wise group of friends got together and decided that they were tired of paying high prices for trendy glasses. They also didn’t like trying on glasses without being able to get other’s advice (besides that of the person trying to sell them). So, this intelligent group formed their own little company- Warby Parker– and they send you (for FREE!) 5 pairs of glasses to try & model for friends. And…they’re packaged in this snazy cool box!
image
What’s the catch? You have 5 days to return them (for FREE!). At that point you can send them your prescription & they make them for you, or you can try another five pairs. Oh, did I mention they’re under $100! Available for men & women- sunglasses & monocles (send me a pic if you own one of these!) too. Thanks for the great tip, Dana!
*Forgot to mention the coolest part! When you buy a pair, they donate a pair to someone in need!

Feeling artsy in my “tester specs” I decided to get crafty. We’re in the process of changing my son’s room to a sport theme and I’m upcycling his dresser into a desk. Gone are the zebra drawer pulls, but the baseball ones I found were $12 each. Since I’m not willing to pay $48 for drawer pulls, I decided to give it a shot myself. My favorite online eco-friendly (small) business, Favor the Earth, carries mini-vegan nail polish for $5. I already had the white, so I figured I’d paint them with that! Just need to add one more coat and the red baseball “stitches.”
image

After school, it was back to Salon Giovanni for my daughter’s haircut. All three of us are now well-coifed for the next 3-4 months!

My pork-chops for tonight’s dinner didn’t defrost yet (so much for planning ahead!), so while we waited for her at the salon, my son & I walked down to our other local meat market, Miller’s Old Fashioned Butcher Shop. Since I don’t eat much red meat, I don’t go here very often, but the owner is always friendly & helpful. Apparently if you’re a hunter he does deer processing too. Although meatloaf and potato salad is not my favorite, the kids had seconds and were quite happy!

Of course, if we picked up dinner, we needed dessert too. Cathy’s Sweet Shop is a couple of doors down from Miller’s- and Blackhawk’s cookies prevailed. Plus a couple of kolacky cookies (buy one get one free after 3:00) and a lemon bar!

Looking for a suggestion for photo printing. Ideas?

*Forgot to mention the coolest part about Warby Parker. When you buy a pair, they donate a pair to someone in need! They’re like the Toms of eye-glasses!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

