Shop Small 2013

A 365 day challenge

Day 4…

Finally Friday!

The last weekend before the kids head back to school. To me, that means the official end of the holiday season. Time to bring some sort of order back to our lives.

A relatively low-key day today, but we still managed to support a few small businesses along the way.

First stop, a much-needed haircut. Giovanni at Salon Giovanni in our small downtown turned my tired locks (yeah, it’s been almost a year since my last haircut, oops!) silky & refreshed!

Next stop… a few doors down to our local library. Total disclaimer, I’m a library junkie. I would love the job of reshelving books- though they’d probably end up coming home with me instead of going on the shelves. For several years I’ve had a goal to read 50 books in one year. 47 is my high. Maybe this year. Hence the reason I love the library, I could never buy all of the books I read (though I do buy anything by Jen Lancaster, Amy Krouse Rosenthal, and Jenny Lawson). I don’t know my credit card number, drivers license number, or my bank account number- but I do know my library card number!

Need to fix…We all have our vices, mine is Steaz Berry Energy Drink. I swear it is better than any vitamin supplement I’ve ever taken and I love the energy without jittery side-effects. Acai, green tea, and yerba mate, yum. It’s about a third of the price of Starbucks and it makes me “happy, happy, happy.” But, I forgot my delivery was coming from Amazon until it arrived on the porch. So, I need to cancel my “Subscribe & Save” and find someone else who carries it (besides Whole Foods/Paycheck too). Any ideas?

Which small shops are you supporting this weekend?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

